RSS Feed

What Makes U Happy?

What are the aspects of our lives
That make us believe
We are truly happy…
Perhaps…
The smiles of our children…
The heart melting whispers lying next 2 ur partner at night
Or simply
The financial status of ur life…
But have u ever asked urself….
Where would ur happiness be
Without any of these things…
What if u didn’t have these things 2 begin with?
What then…
Would make u a happy individual?
What are you passionate about?
It’s amazing how self happiness is lost…
So many people can’t answer the simple question…
What makes YOU happy ?
Without stating the obvious…
It’s as if…
People r flooded with the general thoughts of happiness
Accepting the feeling of being bound & trapped
Because of what society leads people 2 believe they need
In order 2 be happy.
When deep down…
None of the things they have, make them feel complete
Passion and self happiness is lost in so many of our lives…
And for some reason we just settle…
For superficial happiness
So what makes u happy?

© 2011  Craig Watson

About Mr. Watson

I'm a person who believes in Happiness & Love... I feel that it empowers us to unimaginable heights... Not just the aspect of Romance... But a Love for Life... Beauty & the Unknown! However, As Positive as I try to be... the struggles of Life are relevant in my world... Perfection doesn't exist and Wise Choices haven't always been made! I try to describe those things in full detail... Bringing u visual imagery through my Poetry ! I Love Feedback... GOOD... or BAD.

20 responses »

  1. Interestingly enough, this is so true because we are so consumed and content with just living day to day that true happiness eludes us.

    Reply
  2. True words… Thought-provoking poem. And what makes me happy? My passions – poetry, music, dancing or even simply chatting with friends or waking up on a beautiful summer/spring morning 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank u! And thanks 4 ur thoughts! I agree… My passion is writing. I feel like no one can take ur thoughts from u (except age lol)… Like when u write a poem and find it years later… reading it can take u back to the very moment! It’s as if ur living in the moment again! Great stuff…. And YES… Gotta love those Spring and Summer mornings….

      Reply
  3. The little things. I love unexpected humor, the kind when you just brush of embarrassment and laugh out loud. I love getting to know people that alone is probably what makes me happy not even the formation of a relationship so much as the delightful process. I mean the heady anxiety of talking to a stranger, unfolding a stranger its magical. I love my husband’s silly smiles and the way he hands me folded up paper in the shape of animals with huge stupid grin plastered on his face and my daughter the way she hugs me for no reason and strokes my cheek when I am sad. I love her on the floor beside me doing yoga and my husband just flopping down on top of me. Happiness is in the everyday moments, its those things you truly miss when taken away.

    Reply
  4. What makes me happy just now is reading readable words on a pale background! And good words they are!

    Reply
  5. thought-provoking 🙂

    Reply
  6. A very provocative piece… lending to a deep soul searching for each who truly tries to answer the question you have posed. Well done.

    Reply
  7. a good poem to share

    Reply
  8. True.. we base our happiness on so many delusions, impermanent things that are here today, gone tomorrow…

    Thought provoking post…

    Reply
  9. Excellent piece. I, like many I hope, think thoughts like this all the time. Wonderful question raised poetically. Thanks for sharing:)

    Reply
  10. Happiness is within us and around us 🙂 thank you for this piece, I like it very much.

    Reply
  11. Thought-provoking; I really do have to wonder what truly makes me happy, and I can only say that’s it’s the clichéd ‘little things’. Waking up to a beautiful sunset, a perfectly-made cup of coffee, ‘me’ time, a brilliant book, cooking for my boyfriend, knitting, a song on the radio I haven’t heard for years. It’s all about the little things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

