RSS Feed

U Tend To 4get

Posted on

U Tend To 4get

U tend to 4get
How short
Our time really is.
Sitting…
Listening…
To the
When I get older stories
From the mouths of our children.
With broad eyes
With such excitement
With unquestionable visions of u being around 4ever.
Damn…
I want to live 4ever…
I’ll deal with the aches  and pains
That come with age
As long as I can see the smiles
On my children’s children’s faces

© 2011  Craig Watson

About Mr. Watson

I'm a person who believes in Happiness & Love... I feel that it empowers us to unimaginable heights... Not just the aspect of Romance... But a Love for Life... Beauty & the Unknown! However, As Positive as I try to be... the struggles of Life are relevant in my world... Perfection doesn't exist and Wise Choices haven't always been made! I try to describe those things in full detail... Bringing u visual imagery through my Poetry ! I Love Feedback... GOOD... or BAD.

40 responses »

  1. Awww I love the message at the end, very touching

    Reply
  2. moving and wise words…
    beautiful entry.

    Reply
  3. So true. Its amazing how children give you such drive to do whatever it takes and suffer through what you must just to see them grow healthy and extend the family even futher. Children are a blessing and family is a beautiful thing.

    Reply
  4. They are life’s delight!

    Reply
  5. So good! It’s in us to want to live forever.

    Reply
  6. How very true and wise to be able to put that into words.

    Reply
  7. Jaan Pehchaan

    Yes – life – we do not seem to place enough value to it. Truly precious.

    Reply
  8. Life is about family & love.
    Wonderful expressions.

    Reply
  9. I hope the wish prevails..that the years are full of blessed rewards!

    Reply
  10. I like the last line. The trade off of seeing those smiles is pretty great, though my 96 year old father would love to have his sight to go with the wrinkles!

    I invite you to pop over to visit my Potluck contribution at http://shawnbird.com/2011/07/10/fire-of-you/

    Reply
  11. From the well of wisdom, you’ve drawn remarkable insight. May you be blessed.

    Reply
  12. Short and 2 the point…..nice

    Reply
  13. Mortality sucks. Totally related to the sentiment about the children. Good work here. Poem on …

    Reply
  14. Lovely well written poem, I enjoyed reading it. 🙂

    Reply
  15. Hi Craig

    lovely.. the last lines were perfect… how we all wish to see the smiles and hear the laughter… all along…

    ‘As long as I can see the smiles
    On my children’s children’s faces’

    Lovely…

    Thanks for joining in the poetry potluck this week, which I hosted for the first time this week….

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/07/whispers-cuckoos-song-and-smell-of-love.html
    At Twitter @VerseEveryDay

    Reply
  16. Thanks for this great one. . it “hit the spot” in my heart today that needed a little nudge of happiness.

    I’m still wondering if you are the same Craig Watson I know from way back when in Connecticut. If you are, you would definitely know my name, so I’m assuming you are not!

    I wish you enough. . .
    Paula

    Reply
  17. What a great poem. I can relate to the sentiment to such an extent that reading this had a profound effect on my emotions. The title of my blog http://wordsofamidlifecrisis.blogspot.com is a reflection of the stage I am at in life. A stage where I often ponder life and the speed at which it flows and where it’s going etc, etc.

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful poem 🙂

    Reply
  18. Pingback: Short Story Slam Week 5 Participation Awards | Bluebell Ocean Waves

  19. lovely ….mind am looking forward to seeing my grandchildren smile if my smiling kids decide to have any !

    Reply
  20. amazing.

    keep it up.

    How are you?

    Welcome join us for week 6 short story slam fun,

    Bless you..

    Keep it up!

    Reply
  21. If only we COULD live forever and live it all

    Reply
  22. hope that ifs work out,

    very creative and imaginative, cheers.

    🙂

    Reply
  23. Thanks for sharing…

    happy 2012.

    will be back.

    Reply
  24. you live on in your grandchildren

    bumble bee

    Reply
  25. It’s worth the wait, Craig. But then your children move–or you move–and you only get to see those smiles once in a while.
    Nice write.

    Reply
  26. I teared up at the end of this one.
    Beautiful words!

    Reply
  27. Hey, this is a good poem. Very uplifting and family oriented.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

