RSS Feed

Exit Wounds

Exit Wounds

I dread hearing you say
That you’re through
You say you can no longer
Allow me
To continue to put you
In the circumstances that we’re going through.
But what exactly am I to do?
Leave…
Without warning?
“Troubles would be vague as long as we’re together”
You say.
But those troubles can’t remain vague forever…
Maybe
They’ll come out during our struggles
Definitely
During our bickering
Inevitably
During our moments of anger.
I say I love you
You say I don’t love you.
I’m acting like a stranger.
You say that…
The only way I can prove to you that I care
Is to Leave…
Without warning…
You don’t expect me to leave my responsibilities
Just to accept the consequences of a battered
Spiteful heart
But this is a DANGEROUS love
Bound to cause
Unnecessary pain
What’s the worth…
All to rekindle something
That’s meant to be apart .
Us…

© 2011 Craig Watson

About Mr. Watson

I'm a person who believes in Happiness & Love... I feel that it empowers us to unimaginable heights... Not just the aspect of Romance... But a Love for Life... Beauty & the Unknown! However, As Positive as I try to be... the struggles of Life are relevant in my world... Perfection doesn't exist and Wise Choices haven't always been made! I try to describe those things in full detail... Bringing u visual imagery through my Poetry ! I Love Feedback... GOOD... or BAD.

47 responses »

  1. I like the circular quality of this, reflecting one of those horrendous circular “failing relationship” conversations where it all feels a bit hopeless, but neither party can help turning it over and over and over… Clever.

    Reply
  2. ouch!!!! a push and pull feeling, pessimism as well 😦
    happy gooseberry day!!! http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/when-someday-never-comes/

    Reply
  3. true words, well penned..

    🙂

    Reply
  4. My goodness, Craig, this is excellent.

    Reply
  5. Wow, this is so real! I felt like I was watching it play out. Very Emotional! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Great entry, the relationship that has to end, exit wounds indeed!

    Reply
  7. You caught the faltering time that comes before the decision.

    Reply
  8. Nicely written I love it

    Reply
  9. Hello, Mr. Watson

    You have pictured the separation so perfect… your words feel true..
    like…
    ‘The only way I can prove to you that I care
    Is to Leave…
    Without warning…’

    Sometimes it does makes the only sense… I could relate to it..
    Thanks for sharing…

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/10/whispers-love-and-loss-butterfly.html
    At twitter @VerseEveryDay

    Reply
  10. A sad confusion contained here in your gentle musing.

    Reply
  11. Really enjoyed that you write this in narrative. The conversation, real. Nicely done!

    Reply
  12. There are times to let go.. saving yourself from destruction is a worthy cause. I know it is hard to walk away. I did this recently, no warning, for sanity as much as safety. I could not loose me at the cost of being with someone.

    Reply
  13. You say.
    But those troubles can’t remain vague forever…
    Maybe
    They’ll come out during our struggles
    Definitely
    During our bickering
    Inevitably
    During our moments of anger.
    I say I love you
    You say I don’t love you.
    I’m acting like a stranger.
    You say that…

    I just had to reproduce these…Awesome. Everything I’ve felt before described here…the feeling of frustration in the entanglements of still wanting to hold on but someone gave up.

    Reply
  14. perfect expression of separations.

    🙂

    Reply
  15. I think you are right dangerous love and still in the end you are apart. Thank you for your recent visit to my blog site and the wonderful comment you have left behind. it is a pleasure to come and read your blog and I do enjoy it each time you share your work. Happy picnic
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/03/memories-and-photographs-of-you/

    Reply
  16. superb superb an superb!!!!

    Reply
  17. love the layout and structure of your poem! yeah the the challenge of relationships.it must be one of the most complex things in the universe!

    Reply
  18. Great use of words and great flow.

    Reply
  19. nice one.. a nice tinge of sadness! this week’s gooseberry.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/02/11/scented-promises/

    Reply
  20. Sometimes we stay we know not why. Old fashioned values perhaps? you captured that feeling….reminds me of my poem Mistress, read it here…

    http://ahhhpoetry.wordpress.com/2011/09/04/mistress-3/

    Reply
  21. Read it several times over. So close to home ….

    Reply
  22. Prince Martinez

    hmmmmm

    Reply
  23. This is very cleverly written and so true to life! Very emotional!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

