RSS Feed

Why Did I Hold Back

Why Did I Hold Back

What I wouldn’t give
To let her know
What exactly it is…
That I’m feeling inside.
Afraid of her reaction.
Afraid she’ll dispose of my pride.
Battling the voices of courage and fear in my head
Is making me want to keep what I want to say…
All in my mind.
Time is of the essence…
She won’t be in my presence forever.
& Silence isn’t beneficial…
But my nerves wont let me rush this.
I don’t want to approach her and my words are distorted.
Where she’ll just brush me off
And I’ll remain nothing but a thought…
If that!
I know I have to speak up
Before it’s too late
And she’s gone out of my life
And I’ll never find out her name.
Only if I came up with this concept
A minute sooner
Now I’ll never see her again
If I do…
It’ll be a coincidence.
Why did I hold back?

© 2011 Craig Watson

About Mr. Watson

I'm a person who believes in Happiness & Love... I feel that it empowers us to unimaginable heights... Not just the aspect of Romance... But a Love for Life... Beauty & the Unknown! However, As Positive as I try to be... the struggles of Life are relevant in my world... Perfection doesn't exist and Wise Choices haven't always been made! I try to describe those things in full detail... Bringing u visual imagery through my Poetry ! I Love Feedback... GOOD... or BAD.

39 responses »

  1. it’s better to have said it and regret it, than to have held it and wondered what if?

    Reply
  2. live for the momnet, never hold back!

    Reply
  3. well put sentiments,

    🙂

    Reply
  4. I swoon every time I read you… *swoon*. Go! Find her!! 😉

    Reply
  5. One of the biggest regrets I ever find myself having is the regret of not expressing how I truly feel. I like this poem!

    Reply
  6. Craig, Very nicely done!! This line, “Afraid she’ll dispose of my pride.” I think costs a lot of relationships. Actually, our pride gets in the way of a lot of things doesn’t it?! Blessings, Terri

    Reply
  7. Time is never on our side. Great write!

    Reply
  8. Very well said, Mr. Watson! I dare say I’ve been there and done that. But looking back, I tend to think I spoke up the one time it really mattered. And thus the poem I am offering up this week: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/the-wonder-of-you/

    Reply
  9. I share the sentiments with you,
    why?
    not sure at times.

    amazing piece of poetry.
    😉

    Reply
  10. after thoughts make us realize a lot-great work

    Reply
  11. yeah, why did you hold back? Very well written Craig, an enjoyable read!

    Reply
  12. I think we all regret holding back at times. Well written!

    Reply
  13. masterful write.

    welcome sharing a piece with us today.

    Reply
  14. …her name was Beatrice.
    Like this poem. it explores a hidden cavity w/in the male gender.
    good work.

    Reply
  15. if you don’t speak up, you wonder the rest of your life what would have happened if you had

    rapper ghost limerick

    Reply
  16. I keep re-reading this and thinking of a situation I experienced with my ex-fiancé. I held back all too often, and reading this poem has, in a strange way, helped me accept that a little.

    My entry: http://halfwaybetweenthegutter.wordpress.com/2012/04/08/smudge/

    Reply
  17. So true. You must go for it.

    Reply
  18. How life would’ve been different…

    Reply
  19. Ah – sometimes we just miss that moment!

    Anna :o]

    Reply
  20. This is definitely worth reading twice! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

